Council and Committees

The Brampton City Crest

Brampton’s City Council is composed of the Mayor and ten Councillors.​ They are elected to Council for a four-year term.

The Mayor is elected by voters from all parts of the City. Councillors are elected by voters within their specific wards.

The Mayor and six of the Councillors also represent the City as members of the Region of Peel Council.

Council is the decision-making body.  It considers recommendations from its committees and makes decisions about matters that are local government responsibilities.

Committee meetings provide members the opportunity for discussion and public input, prior to making recommendations to Council concerning the services and operations of the municipality. For a list of committees established by this Council, refer to membership and mandates.


Find out more...