Governance and Council Operations Committee

Composition:          Minimum of four Members of Council, except the Mayor who shall be an ex-officio Member of such committee


Term of Office:        Concurrent with the term of Council, ending November 14, 2026, or until successors are appointed


Established by:      Council Resolution (November 16, 2022)


Meetings:                  Quarterly or as required by the Chair


Reports to:               City Council


Supported by:         City Clerk’s Office


Committee Structure/Responsibilities:


To consider initiatives that have a direct impact on Members of Council to increase awareness and compliance with Corporate policy and procedures, including:


  • the accountability and transparency provisions of the Municipal Act, 2001 (e.g., Code of Conduct, Integrity Commissioner)
  • Council Governance, Structure and Composition
  • Council Procedure By-law and meeting procedures
  • Mayor's Office and Council Office administrative matters
  • Member expense policy matters


      Current Members:

      Councillor Vicente, Chair

      Councillor Toor, Vice-Chair

      Councillor Brar

      Councillor Santos

      Councillor Singh