Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) Performance Review Committee

Composition:  eight (8) Members of Council

Term of Office:  Until the end of the 2022-2026 term of Council (November 14, 2026)

Established by:  Established by Council Resolution (November 16, 2022)

Meetings:  As required by the annual performance plan established by the CAO, or at the call of the Chair

Reports to:  City Council, in accordance with the open meeting​ provisions of the Municipal Act, 2001.

Supported by:   City Clerk – scheduling, agendas and minutes; Executive-Director, Human Resources, shall serve as a resource to support the Committee’s mandate, as required


Committee Structure/Responsibilities:

A primary function of Council is to ensure the accountability and transparency of the operations of the municipality, including the activities of the senior management of the municipality.

Brampton’s model of administration follows the Municipal Act, 2001, in the establishment of a Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) position as the head of the administrative arm of City government. The CAO is responsible to Council for exercising general control and management of the affairs of the municipality for the purpose of ensuring the efficient and effective operation of the municipality, in accordance with the policies, plans and budget established and approved by Council.


The hiring of the CAO is one of the key responsibilities of Council.

The CAO participates in the City’s Pay for Performance program. Council is

responsible for the evaluation of the performance of the CAO. The CAO Performance Review Committee is responsible for overseeing the annual process on behalf of Council.


The Committee's mandate shall include the following:

1.  Oversee the process for the establishment of annual goals by the CAO.

2.  Convene periodic meetings for performance monitoring and feedback discussions with the CAO.

3.  Oversee the process for the annual performance review of the CAO,

4.  Recommend to Council Pay for Performance program decisions for the CAO.​


Current Members:
Councillor Brar, Chair
Councillor Santos, Vice-Chair
Mayor Brown
Councillor Keenan
Councillor Palleschi
Councillor Singh
Councillot Toor
Councillor Vicente