Arts Walk of Fame

Home Slider Image
Home Slider Image
Home Slider Image
Home Slider Image
Home Slider Image

Image Viewer


​Photo credit: Kevin Jones.

On July 31, 2022, the City of Brampton posthumously inducted music industry pioneer and trailblazer of Afro-Caribbean cultural achievement, Denise Jones, will be honoured posthumously into the Brampton Arts Walk of Fame. 

 The induction ceremony took place in Garden Square, downtown Brampton, as part of the JAMBANA: One World Festival​, which celebrates the sights, sounds and tastes of Canada’s diversity. The festival represents Canada’s African and Caribbean communities through performances by internationally acclaimed bands, artists and JUNO Award winners.  

Pictured left to right: Regional Councillor Paul Vicente, Mayor Patrick Brown, Peel District School Board Trustee Kathy McDonald, Jerimi Jones, Regional Councillor Rowena Santos.

Photo credit: Custodio's Photography Studio Inc.

 "Denise was a long-time Brampton resident and one of the most influential change-makers in the world of Canadian music. She dedicated her life and career to championing reggae, Black entertainment and Jamaican Canadian culture. She not only broke down barriers in the music industry but also opened them up for generations of artists to come". - Mayor Patrick Brown 

Photo credit: Custodio's Photography Studio Inc.


 Denise Jones spent her life championing Afro-Caribbean culture in Canada and around the world through her company, Jones & Jones Productions, Canada’s first black-led talent and management agency. Jones was a champion for Black creators, entertainers and artists, particularly Reggae music, in all forms and was the founding Chair of the Reggae Category for the JUNO Awards. Among her many accomplishments, Jones established the second largest Afrocentric cultural event in Canada, JAMBANA: One World Festival, which at its height drew over 45,000 attendees and was named one of Ontario’s Top 100 Festivals.  

 Raised in Jamaica, Denise began her career in entertainment there before moving to Canada and settling in Brampton, where she was a long-time resident. Since her passing in 2020, Denise leaves behind a legacy of incredible achievements, including a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Urban Music Association of Canada, the Bob Marley Memorial Award for her work in entertainment, a Government of Ontario Community Service Award, a Ministry of Citizenship Ontario Government Award, an African Canadian Achievement Award, and a Harry Jerome Award for Excellence in Entertainment. She was also named one of 100 Accomplished Black Canadian Women in 2018. At the 2022 JUNO Awards Festivities, Denise was posthumously awarded the 2022 Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award​, a prize that recognizes individuals whose work has significantly impacted the growth and development of the Canadian music industry.​ 


REcognizing Brampton's Creative Talent

Brampton's Arts Walk of Fame is one of the City’s key recognition programs, celebrating and building connections with the incredible artistic and creative talent emerging from Brampton while inspiring the next generation of artists and creators to follow in their footsteps. 

Hailing from Brampton or having spent their formative years here, inductees are selected for achieving excellence in the arts and entertainment industry, for building pride in the Brampton community and inspiring emerging artists and creators.​​

The City of Brampton is proud to recognize and celebrate the impact and achievements of each of these inductees.​​​​