​​​​​​​​​​​The Brampton Urban Design Awards celebrate achievements in design, architecture and landscape architecture. These awards, given out every two years, recognize the creativity and excellence of those who are working to fill Brampton with innovative, high-quality environments.


Projects are submitted in one of eight categories:

  • Building - Residential, Commercial, Institutional, Industrial/Employment, Mixed-use
  • Heritage Restoration - In-situ Renovation, Restoration, Adaptive Reuse
  • New Landscape - Public Space, Park, Stormwater Pond, Valley, Streetscape, Planting Feature
  • New Neighbourhood - 50 Acres or more with defined character, Centre, edges and recognition elements
  • Concept or Plan - City-endorsed Master Plans, Projects, Studies
  • Healthy and Sustainable Development – Sustainable Greenfield Development, Infill, Transit-oriented/Transit-supportive Design, Green Technology
  • Project Marketing - Materials promoting high-quality projects in Brampton (brochures, video/web-based presentations, sales pavilions)

In addition, the People’s Choice Award is presented to a project selected by the public from a group of exceptional projects developed or planned in the two years prior to the award year.​​​​​​

Inclusivity - By Design

Winners of the 2023 Brampton Urban Design Awards have been announced.

See this year's Award Winners

​​About the Awards

The Brampton Urban Design Awards is a biennial awards program that celebrates urban design excellence in the city of Brampton and acknowledge significant contributions made by city-builders, urban designers, architects, landscape architects, artists and design students. These awards promote and celebrate innovation, creativity, and design excellence in the delivery of high-quality, sustainable, and inclusive urban-built environments in Brampton.

This year the program will focus on new socio-economic themes alongside best practice design standards. Under the theme ‘Inclusivity – By Design’, the 2023 Brampton Urban Design Awards will address themes of Active Design, Aging Population, Sustainability, Accessibility, Safety, Equity, Health and Wellbeing.

Image of TD building
Image of William Osler building

Schedule and Event

Image of Cassie Campbell Community Centre

 ‭(Hidden)‬ Award Categories

Image of Loblaw building

 ‭(Hidden)‬ Judging Criteria

Type of Awards

The Brampton Urban Design Awards recognize three awards of distinction. The number of awards bestowed in each category, if any, is at the discretion of the jury.

Awards of Excellence

Given to projects that demonstrate excellence across all judging criteria​.

Awards of Merit

Given to projects that demonstrate excellence across multiple judging criteria​.

Healthy by Design

Given to projects that exemplify the six Healthy Development Core Elements​.

Two projects will be selected from the entire body of submissions for special recognition in the following areas:

People's Choice Award

Selected by the residents of Brampton.

Best Overall Project

For the best overall design project in advancing Brampton’s 2040 Vision.

Image of Williams Parkway Operations Centre


The City By-Design Award is juried by a panel of Urban Visionaries. It is comprised of design industry experts from across Canada and internationally in the fields of Urban Design, Architecture, Landscape Architecture, and Planning.​

Click here to see the Jury panel for 2023.


The Brampton Urban Design Awards are generously supported by the following sponsors:


Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA), Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (OAA), Ontario Association Of Landscape Architects (OALA), Ontario Professional Planners Institute (OPPI), Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC)

Our Vision is the long-term goal for our city.

Learn about the 2040 Vision

For more information:

Email: urbandesignaward@brampton.ca

Planning, Building and Growth Management
3rd floor, Brampton City Hall
2 Wellington Street West,
Brampton, ON L6Y 4R2