City of Brampton Logo

News Release


City of Brampton responds to appointment of Peel Region Transition Board

Statement from Brampton Mayor Patrick Brown on Transition Board Appointments
BRAMPTON, ON (July 5, 2023) – Today, City of Brampton Mayor Patrick Brown issued the following statement in response to the Government of Ontario’s appointment of the five-member Peel Transition Board:

“I am pleased to see Premier Ford move quickly to appoint the Peel Transition Board. The five members of the board all have the required expertise to understand the significant financial costs to Brampton taxpayers that the dissolution will have, and the detailed due diligence needed to ensure a fair process.

“The people of Brampton deserve to be paid back for their previous investments in Peel’s infrastructure, and the high level of skill and experience of the Peel Transition Board gives me confidence that they will make decisions that are based on the facts, not political rhetoric.

“The decision to dissolve Peel Region has caused an enormous amount of uncertainty for all of three of our municipalities, and I welcome this first step towards creating a plan that will be fair for everyone. This is a historic undertaking, and I am excited to have the opportunity to help shape a bright future for our community as we continue to create a world-class city. 

“Along with the rest of our team at Brampton, I look forward to meeting with the Peel Transition Board at their earliest convenience.”


Additional Resources

As one of the fastest-growing cities in Canada, Brampton is home to nearly 700,000 people and more than 90,000 businesses. People are at the heart of everything we do. We are energized by our diverse communities, we attract investment, and we are embarking on a journey to lead technological and environmental innovation. We partner for progress to build a healthy city that is safe, sustainable, and successful. Connect with us on TwitterFacebook, and Instagram. Learn more at
City of Brampton Media Relations​

Gary Collins, Director of Communications 
Office of the Mayor