City of Brampton Logo

Media Release

Brampton issues official results of 2018 Municipal Election

BRAMPTON, ON – The City of Brampton has issued the official results for the 2018 Municipal Election. All results have been verified and approved by the City Clerk and Returning Officer, Peter Fay.

A total of 108,070 voters cast their vote this election (including at advance voting), representing a 34.5 per cent turnout of the eligible voter base of 313,273. 

“We have been focused on running a fair, transparent and inclusive election, and making the voting process easier by allowing voters to vote anywhere in their ward. We would like to thank all voters, our election workers, volunteers, school boards, community organizations, local and regional partners, and staff for participating in the Election,” said Peter Fay, City Clerk and Returning Officer for the 2018 Brampton Municipal Election. “City Council makes important decisions that impact everyday life in Brampton, so I encourage all Brampton residents to be active in their community and stay connected with their local government.”

The final list of elected representatives is as follows. At a Special Meeting of City Council, scheduled for December 4, 2018, Council will meet to appoint one of the elected City Councillors as an additional Regional Councillor representative on Peel Regional Council.

Patrick Brown
Regional Councillors
Wards 1 & 5: Paul Vicente
Wards 2 & 6: Michael Paul Palleschi  
Wards 3 & 4: Martin Medeiros  
Wards 7 & 8: Pat Fortini  
Wards 9 & 10: Gurpreet Singh Dhillon 

City Councillors
Wards 1 & 5: Rowena Santos  
Wards 2 & 6: Doug Whillans  
Wards 3 & 4: Jeff Bowman  
Wards 7 & 8: Charmaine Williams  
Wards 9 & 10: Harkirat Singh  

Peel District School Board Trustees
Wards 1 & 5: David Green
Wards 2 & 6: William Davies
Wards 3 & 4: Kathy McDonald  
Wards 7 & 8: Carrie Andrews
Wards 9 & 10: Balbir Sohi  

Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board Trustees
Wards 1, 3 & 4: Anna da Silva
Wards 2, 5 & 6: Darryl Brian D'Souza
Wards 7, 8, 9 & 10: Shawn Xaviour (acclaimed)

Conseil Scolaire Viamonde Trustee (for Region of Peel)
Yvon Rochefort (Note, the result as listed here is currently based on Brampton’s votes. The City of Mississauga is the Returning Office for this position. For complete results, please refer to

Conseil scolaire catholique MonAvenir Trustee (for City of Brampton, Town of Caledon, City of Guelph and the municipalities in Dufferin and Wellington Counties)
Genevieve Grenier

For more information, please visit ​


Brampton is thinking bigger. We are a future ready organization with a sharp focus. We know our community’s growth, youth and diversity set us apart. We sit at the centre of Canada’s innovation super corridor, encouraging investment and growing our global success. We are building vibrant urban centres that ignite opportunity and instill pride in the people who live and work here. We are moving Brampton forward to be a connected city that is innovative, inclusive and bold. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook. Learn more at
Natalie Stogdill
Media Coordinator
City of Brampton
905.874.3654 |