Community Safety Zones

Community Safety Zone Sign 

Community Safety Zones are sections of roadway where public safety is of special concern. Community Safety Zones may include roadways near schools, day care centres, playgrounds, parks, hospitals, senior citizen residences, and may also be used for collision prone areas within a community.

The purpose of a Community Safety Zone is to indicate to the motorist that they are within a zone where fines have been increased through a special designation under the Highway Traffic Act (many set fines are doubled such as speeding and traffic signal related offences).

The signs that include the BEGINS and ENDS tabs define the legal limits of the zone. The rules of the road do not change within the zone; only the penalties for violations are increased.


  • Avondale Boulevard (from Birchbank Road to Bramalea Road)
  • Conestoga Drive (from Sandalwood Parkway East to Wexford Road)
  • County Court Boulevard (from Hurontario Street to a point 100 metres east of Hurontario Street)
  • Fernforest Drive (from Sandalwood Parkway East to Bovaird Drive)
  • Hurontario Street (from a point 100 metres south of Ray Lawson Blvd to a point 100 metres north of Ray Lawson Blvd)
  • North Park Drive (from Williams Parkway to Dixie Road)
  • Peter Robertson Boulevard (from a point 100 metres west of Fernforest Drive to a point 100 metres east of Fernforest Drive)
  • Ray Lawson Boulevard (from Mavis Road to Hurontario Street)
  • Vodden Street (from Centre Street North to Kennedy Road North)