Vehicle-for-Hire Advisory Committee

Composition:         15 representatives and citizens, including:
Eight (8) Taxicab industry representatives:
·       Two (2) taxicab plate owners (as defined in the Mobile Licensing By-law) and who are not taxicab brokers
·       Four (4) taxicab drivers (as defined in the Mobile Licensing Bylaw) and who are not plate owners
·       Two (2) taxicab brokers (as defined in the Mobile Licensing Bylaw) to be appointed by City Council on recommendation by the licensed taxicab brokers
Two (2) Limousine plate owners (as defined in the Mobile Licensing By-law)
Two (2) private transportation company (PTC) representatives
Two (2) citizen appointments who do not work in the taxicab industry
One (1) Accessibility Advisory Committee member (or alternate from the Committee)
Term of Office:      Concurrent with the term of Council, ending November 14, 2022, or until successors are appointed
Established by:     Council Resolution C271-2019 (July 10, 2019)
Meetings:               Semi-annually, at City Hall, or more frequently as may be determined by the committee or at the call of the Chair
Reports to:            Committee of Council
Supported by:        City Clerk’s Office (meeting management) and Enforcement and By-law Services, Corporate Services Department (subject matter expertise)
Honorarium:          Volunteer
Mandate:               To provide a forum for the various interests of Brampton's vehicle-for-hire industry to discuss with City Officials current and emerging issues, opportunities and proposed solutions affecting the larger industry and public interests.
The Committee may consider matters within the following areas of
interest or such other area as Council may determine from time to
·       Taxicab industry matters
·       Private transportation company (PTC) matters
·       Limousine service matters
·       Accessibility
·       Public Vehicle Licensing
·       Driver Safety
·       Vehicle Standards
·       Taxi Stands
·       Owner/Operators working relationships
·       Licensing Requirements
·       Customer Relations

Current Members (2018-2022 term):

• Taxicab plate owners who are not brokers:
    o Narinder Pandher
    o Mahesh Malhi
    o Zafar Tariq   
    o Jaswant Uppal
• Driver who does not own a plate:
 o Sudhir Kalia
• Taxicab brokers (to be further recommended by licenced brokers):
 o Milton Bhangoo
 o Makhan Dhother
• Limousine plate owners:
 o Salman Fayaz
• Two private transportation company representatives:
 o (two vacancies unfilled)
• Citizen applicants:
o Hari Rawul
o Joan John
o Mandeep Dhaliwal
o Kunal Shrotriya;
• Taxicab plate owners who are not taxicab brokers:
o Barjinder Sodhi
o Ravinderjit S Sandhu