Regional Municipality of Peel

As Head of Council, Mayor Fennell sits as a member of Peel Regional Council.

The Regional Municipality of Peel was incorporated in 1974 on the principle that certain community and infrastructure services are most cost-effectively administered over a larger geographic area. The Region of Peel serves more than one million residents in the Cities of Mississauga and Brampton and the Town of Caledon.

Peel Regional Council consists of 25 members:

How your property tax bill breaks down: 

Municipal property taxes pay for the programs and services that residents depend on.  In Brampton, some services are provided by the City of Brampton, while others are delivered by the Region of Peel.  This graph outlines how your 2011 property taxes will be distributed.

Pie graph 

To compare services provided by the Regional Municipality of Peel to those provided by the City of Brampton, please click here