Taxicab Advisory Committee

This committee was not re-established for the 2014-2018 term.


To provide a forum for the various interests of Brampton's taxicab industry to discuss with City Officials identified issues and proposed solutions affecting Brampton's taxicab industry.

The Taxicab Advisory Committee may consider matters within the following areas of interest or such other areas as Council may determine from time to time:

1. Tariff rates
2. Accessibility
3. Licensing
4. Customer relations
5. Waiting Lists/Priority Lists
6. Driver safety
7. Vehicle standards
8. Taxi stands
9. Owner/Operator working relationships
10. Industry representation on TACs


Minimum of two Members of Council, plus Council Member on Accessibility Advisory Committee

Taxicab industry representatives:

- Two plate owners (as defined in Licensing By-law) and who are not taxicab brokers
- Two drivers (as defined in Licensing By-law) and who are not plate owners
- Two taxicab industry representatives who are brokers (as defined in Licensing By-law) to be appointed by City Council on recommendation by the licensed taxicab brokers

Two citizen appointees who do not work in the taxicab industry

One member of the Accessibility Advisory Committee (AAC), who is to be appointed by City Council on recommendation of the AAC, and an alternate who may act on behalf of the appointed member in his/her absence

Current Committee Membership: 

Council Members

Regional Councillor Elaine Moore, Chair – Wards 1 and 5

Regional Councillor John Sprovieri – Wards 9 and 10


Taxicab Industry Members

Makhan Dhother (Brokers)

Joe Farrugia (Brokers)

Daljit Gill (Drivers)

Lynn Slade (Drivers)

Harbans Dhariwal (Plate Owners)

Amarjit Grewal (Plate Owners)

Citizen Members

Ravinder Chahal

William Horton

Accessibility Advisory Committee

Harvinder Bajwa

Alternate Members

Zafar Tariq (Plate Owners)

Jaswant Uppal (Brokers)

Vacant (A.A.C.)

Vacant (Drivers)


Term of Office:

Concurrent with the term of Council, ending November 30, 2014, or until successors are appointed

Established By:

Recommendation CW258-2009 (TR037-2009), approved by Council Resolution C260-2009 (October 21, 2009)


Quarterly, or more frequently as may be determined by the Committee or at the call of the Chair, on the second Monday of each month at 1:00 p.m. at City Hall

Supported by:

City Clerk's Office



Click Here for Application

Contact Information
Sonya Pacheco, Legislative Co-ordinator
Telephone: 905-874-2178