Council Compensation Committee


In the year prior to a municipal election, a volunteer Council Compensation Committee is established to review compensation for Members of Council who will take office following the next municipal election.  (C322-2005)

The Committee’s mandate includes:

  • Compensation adjustments requiring policy change
  • Appropriateness of Members of Council being included on the non-union salary grid for the next term of Council
  • Review of severance for Members of Council who leave or do not return to office
  • Review and advise Council on Mayor and Member  remuneration and benefits, including
    • salaries, including the one-third tax-free allowance
    • benefits
    • vehicle allowances
    • pensions
    • severances
    • Mayor and Council support staff

On December 17, 2014, by Resolution C326-2014, Council delegated to staff the responsibility to interview and appoint a Council Compensation Committee. It was re-established to conduct a review of Council's current compensation structure and benefits program (including necessary benchmarking), with a report and recommendations to be presented to Council.

Term of Office: 

The citizen appointments are effective for the term ending November 30, 2018, or until successors are appointed.

Established by: 

Resolutions C275-2001, C276-2001 (August 15, 2001) and C034-2002 (January 28, 2002) (GR005-2002)

Members appointed in June 2015:

·  Philip Varickanickal (Chair)
·  Jessica Phinn (Vice-Chair)
·  Lynn Dobson
·  Joy Gordon-Adams
·  Frank Lodhar


Scheduled as required



  • Volunteer
  • Reimbursement for any expenses incurred
  • Mileage is paid at the City of Brampton corporate rate when the members are required to travel on Committee business. 

 Click here for Application Form.